Free home delivery above INR 600/-
Blog archive

Worldwide attack of Ransomware and how to prevent it

Image result for computer picture which says it is locked

If you are thinking you are safe from Ransomware...You are not...you have to be vigilant..

In a very simple term, Ransomware is a malicious software that blocks access to data and encrypts the files.A message is displayed asking for the payment to get the files back.

Anybody using a system can be hit by it starting from home computers to servers at government sectors or at private sectors. The payment is asked in Bitcoin, a type of digital currency used for online transactions between individuals. There is no guarantee that paying the ransom will give you access to your files or PC.

While initially it was popular in Russia, the scam has grown internationally and now 74 countries have been affected by Ransomware.

How it spreads-

According to the USComputer Emergency Readiness Team (USCRT), outdated or unpatched softwares are attacked easily by Ransomware. Experts say that Wannacry is a software that spreads copies of itself by hacking into other computers on network rather than prompting users to open unsuspected attachments.

Facts for Home Users-

There are two types of ransomware- Lockscreen ransomware and Encryption ransomware

Lockscreen prevents you from accessing your PC whereas your files are encrypted in encryption ransomware.

Newer versions of Ransomware encrypts the files on your PC and demands money to restore it again.

It can get to your PC from any source. It includes-

1) Visiting unsafe or suspicious websites

2) Opening emails or attachments from suspicious senders.

3) Clicking on any bad and malicious link in emails or any other social media posts.

Prevention from Ransomware-

1) Regularly update your anti-virus program.

2) Periodically update all the software.

3) Create regular back ups of all the files.

4) Enable pop up blockers.

5) Don't open fake emails or webpages specially those who have bad spelling or just look unusual.

The control of the web browser can be regained by closing the warning message through Task Manager without paying anything.

While reopening the browser, don't click "restore previous session"

Leave your comment
Comments
5/17/2017 7:21 PM
Worth information...
5/18/2017 9:29 AM
Very good information....